Hall of Fame

Congratulations to the 2019 Trinity Hall of Fame class!

Pictured from left to right: Charlie Ricketts ’61 (accepting the award for the late Robert I. “Ric” Cusick ’61); David Troutman ’85; Shawn Freibert ’91; Charlotte Miller Stengel; Bruce Deckel ’57; Michael Wimberg ’96 (accepting the award for the late Sgt. David N. Wimberg ’99); and Patrick Potter ’89.

Seven members of the Trinity Family joined the ranks of Trinity Hall of Fame at our annual induction ceremony on December 12. More than 250 people enjoyed this special Trinity evening in the Convocation Hall.

Congratulations to this year’s inductees:

Robert I. “Ric” Cusick ’61                              Bruce Deckel ’57

Shawn Freibert ’91                                          Patrick Potter ’89

Charlotte Miller Stengel                                 David Troutman ’85

Sgt. David N. Wimberg ’99

They take their places alongside more than 100 other Hall of Fame members who have served our school community so well and contributed much to its legacy. These individuals have enriched the lives of many by their talents, faith and character and left undeniable marks on our beloved school. Thirty-two current members of the Hall of Fame attended the dinner and welcomed our new members.

This year’s inductees received a surprise introduction by people who know them well. Charlie Ricketts ’61 introduced Ric Cusick ’61; Dave Weber ’57 introduced Bruce Deckel ’57; Craig DeSensi ’91 introduced Shawn Freibert ’91; Charlie Leis H’01 introduced Patrick Potter ’89; Mike Hamilton H’96 introduced Charlotte Miller Stengel; Chris Tompkins ’78 introduced David Troutman ’85; and Paul Schulte H’92 introduced Sgt. David N. Wimberg ’99.

Please consider other individuals to nominate for consideration for our Hall of Fame. There are many deserving Trinity alumni, friends and former faculty and board members who are deserving of this honor. Men and women are eligible for Hall of Fame consideration. Nominees must be at least 35 years of age.

You may submit a nomination at https://www.trinityrocks.com/alumni/alumni-recognitions/hall-of-fame/. Nominations are due by May 31, 2020. Please consider submitting a nomination, and please include a bio for your nominee.

  • Robert I. “Ric” Cusick ’61

    • Cusick is a member of the Trinity Class of 1961. He served as director of the U.S. Office of Government Ethics. Prior to that he was a partner in the law firm of Wyatt, Tarrant and Combs in Louisville. He also served as a judge advocate for the U.S. Navy. He attended Bellarmine University for three years before earning a bachelor’s degree and a law degree from the University of Louisville. Cusick passed away on November 25, 2014.
  • Bruce Deckel ’57

    • Deckel is a member of Trinity’s first graduating class, the Class of 1957. He is CEO of Deckel & Moneypenny in Louisville. His company has donated numerous creative, marketing and presentation materials to Trinity. Deckel was instrumental in designing the first Shammy Awards, which recognizes senior class members for various achievements. He has served Trinity as a member of the Alumni and Foundation boards.
  • Shawn Freibert ’91

    • Freibert is a member of the Trinity Class of 1991. Freibert was instrumental in assisting the school in reaching an agreement with the City of St. Matthews for Trinity’s new baseball stadium. He earned a bachelor’s degree and a law degree from the University of Louisville, where he attended on a baseball scholarship. Freibert is owner/attorney of Acuity National Real Estate Solutions and Freibert & Mattingly Title Group, LLC. He also represents players in Major League Baseball and the National Football League.
  • Patrick Potter ’89

    • Potter is a member of the Trinity Class of 1989. He is one of a select few people to serve as chair of the Trinity Alumni Board of Directors and then as chair of the Trinity School Board. Potter’s service to Trinity, the Archdiocese of Louisville and numerous local charitable organizations are emblematic of his deep faith and commitment to bettering the lives of others. He earned a bachelor’s degree from Xavier University. Potter is president and co-owner with his family of Flexo Wash, LLC, the leading provider of cleaning technology for the flexographic, gravure and offset package printing industries.
  • Charlotte Miller Stengel

    • Stengel served as Trinity’s librarian and media specialist for 23 years from 1990-2013. During her years at Trinity, she established and oversaw many innovative additions to the W. Peter Flaig Library Media Center, particularly in the area of technology. Stengel was a collaborative partner with teachers, always available to them for assistance with students’ research papers, special projects and teaching library skills. Prior to her time at Trinity, she taught in Archdiocesan elementary schools. She also served as librarian at Bishop David and Holy Cross high schools. Her professional life has been committed to Catholic education.
  • David Troutman ’85

    • Troutman is a member of the Trinity Class of 1985. He has maintained a consistent loyalty to Trinity serving on the Alumni, School and Foundation boards, including as chair of the Alumni and School boards. He has donated countless hours of his time to alumni efforts, and notably was co-founder of the Shillelagh Cup golf tournament. Troutman has also contributed substantial support to Trinity’s soccer and wrestling programs and served as an assistant coach for the freshman and JV basketball teams. He earned a bachelor’s degree from the University of Louisville. He is director of business operations for Intrado, which develops cloud-based communications technology.
  • Sgt. David N. Wimberg ’99

    • Wimberg is a member of the Trinity Class of 1999. After graduating from Trinity, he joined the U.S. Marine Corps. His natural ability to lead was recognized with his quick ascent to the rank of sergeant. After four years of active duty, Wimberg received an Honorable Discharge and returned to Louisville to train as an emergency medical technician and firefighter. In 2004, he rejoined the Marine Corps to use his prior training and experience to lead young Marines in combat. In January 2005, Wimberg’s battalion was deployed to support Operation Iraqi Freedom and was stationed in the volatile Al Anbar region of northwestern Iraq. He was killed in action on May 25, 2005, while leading his squad in a firefight in the city of Hadithah. He created the necessary momentum to overwhelm the enemy’s ambush, saving Marines’ lives. For his actions, Wimberg was posthumously awarded the Silver Star, the nation’s third-highest award for valor.

We are proud to hold all of these fine examples up as role models for our students – past, present and future.

Want to make a nomination?

We are always seeking Hall of Fame nominations. If there is an individual whom you would like to nominate for Hall of Fame consideration, please download the form.

Nomination Form  

Alumni News

Trinity Alum Living Dream on Broadway

Trinity Alum Living Dream on Broadway

Trinity Alum Ross Lekites is currently playing Erwin Bach in the Original Broadway Company of Tina, the Tina Turner Musical. He was recently seen in New York City Center’s production of Brigadoon (a show he did at Trinity his junior year) playing Charlie Dalrymple,...

read more

Pin It on Pinterest